University of Sheffield Back to Nick Fieller's homepageDepartment of Probability and Statistics

MAS6012/MAS461/MAS361 Medical Statistics Podcasts, Vodcasts and Rich Media Links

This page provides links to various forms of recordings of the lectures and other sessions for Medical Statistics.

Podcasts are simple sound recordings of the lectures. Vodcasts are sound recordings plus a synchronised recording of the desktop, which will display the PowerPoint slides and any other winodws that are opened (including R sessions and web pages). Rich Media (or Echo) provides the most flexible facility of sound, desktop and video with facilities for speed of playback and options for switching the video on or off.

Links are provided to individual lectures etc with a brief summary of content. The RSS feeds below the table provide links to a page with all the webcasts to date with the option of subscribing to the RSS feed so that new recordings are downloaded to your computer automatically.


Lecture       Topic             PodcastVodcastEcho
Week 1
Mon, 26/09/11
Introduction & historical background Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 1
Tues, 27/09/11
Basic concepts & personal background Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 2
Mon, 03/10/11
Study designs and randomization Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 2
Tues, 4/10/11
Protocol deviations and
introduction to sample size calculations
Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 3
Mon, 10/10/11
Guide to BMJ & other web resources
and sample size calculations
Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 3
Tues, 11/10/11
Sample size calculations part 1 Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 3
Tues, 11/10/11
Sample size calculations part 2 Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 4
Mon, 17/10/11
Multiplicity Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 4
Tues, 18/10/11
Sample size tips and cross-over trials Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 5
Mon, 24/10/11
Combination of trials and
introduction to binary data
Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 5
Tues, 25/10/11
Logistic regression and
Bland & Altman plots, Kappa etc
Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 7
Mon, 07/11/11
Survival Data, introduction and basic concepts Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 7
Tues, 08/1/11
Life tables and Kaplan-Meier estimation Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 8
Mon, 14/11/11
Example of KM estimation in R &
MLE of parametric models
Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 8
Tues, 15/1/11
Feedback on Exercises 1 & log-rank tests Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 9
Mon, 21/11/11
Log Rank Tests in R &
Parametric Regression>/td>
Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 9
Tues, 22/1/11
Task Shhets 1-3 & KM etc in R,
Proportional Hazards Regression
Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 10
Mon, 28/11/11
Proportional hazards regression &
interpretation of estimates, implementation in R
Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 10
Tues, 29/1/11
Feedback on Survival Task Sheet 2
& Exercises 2, analysis of Spoons in R
Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 11
Mon, 05/12/11
Interactions in Regression Models,
Log-Log plots & Other Diagnostics
Podcast Vodcast Echo
Week 11
Tues, 06/12/11
Final Session: Marking of Exam Questions
& Any Questions
Podcast Vodcast Echo
PodcastVodcastEcho
RSS feeds Podcast Vodcast Echo

Department of Probability and Statistics
This page is maintained by Dr Nick Fieller